What do DWI and DUI stand for?
Driving While Intoxicated has an acronym of DWI and DUI stands for Driving Under the Influence. The terms which refer to offenses associated with operating a motor vehicle while affected by a substance such as alcohol.
What, exactly, am I arraigned with?
Contact us and our office can look up your case.
Law enforcement never read me my legal rights. Do they need to?
Short answer not necessarily – Nevertheless, this failure to share you your Miranda rights could help your case. Contact our law office to schedule a case assessment so we are able to give you advice about this critical issue.
What’s the distinction between DWI and DUI?
The big difference between DUI and DWI in the state of Texas is the age of the driver. Over 21 years of age the charge is DWI and under 21 DUI is normally the charge. For the DUI charge the the blood achol content does not need to be 0.08% nor does the driver need to be imparied to be charged. FYI Commercial Drivers only need a 0.04% to be charged.
What separates a felony and misdemeanor DWI?
Generally felony will mean intoxication manslaughter and misdemeanor could be just open container viloation (Class C misdemeanor) or DWI and open container (Class B misdemeanor)
Will I go to jail?
You could possibly face time in jail for virtually every Driving while intoxicated or Driving Under Influence conviction even though it’s your very first criminal offense. Having a experienced DWI attorney defending you, you are able to help reduce this particular risk. The actuality of the outcome that you may possibly experience is dependent significantly around the details as well as circumstances of your respective case. No single scenario controls the situation. For instance, even though your BAC is minimal, you could face really serious implications if the additional circumstances of your case aren’t to your benefit.
What exactly is BAC?
BAC means “blood alcohol concentration” the actual percentage of alcohol found in your blood as assessed (typically) with a breathalyzer test. The actual legal limit in Texas is 0.08. Even though your Blood alcohol content is beneath 0.08 but greater than 0.01, you might still be arrested and charged under a DWI/DUI associated charge.
Am I Going To lose my license?
Possibly not. As soon as your charged with DWI, your privilege to operate a vehicle in Texas might be suspended pending prosecution. Meaning suspended while your DWI case is pending. Should you refus to take the breathalyzer, your first offense is a 180 day suspension only for refusing. In the event that your found guilty, you could face yet another suspension or revocation. Our law firm may be able to substantially reduce the resulting hardship for you by avoiding some or many of these suspensions or revocations by utilizing some other legal remedies.
What is an arraignment?
An arraignment, usually, will be your very first courtroom appearance which usually happens soon after your police arrest. At the arraignment, you are informed about your personal charges and bail is going to be considered. Your driver’s license might be suspended pending criminal prosecution, plus a future court date could be set.
Should I consider taking my case to trial?
Our DWI Attorneys will certainly examine all feasible defenses which exist in your case. We will provide you with an honest assessment of your possibility of success at trial. Our Law Firm meticulously put together every case as though it was one of us going to trial and we’re prepared to try your case should you choose this option.